1&1

Joined: 11/28/2008

www.1and1.com

I've signed up this morning and it's ready. They call you after you sign up with a PIN. And then you enter the PIN to get you account / password emailed to you. Their company and data center is quite impressive. Hoax or for realz? Seems legit so far.

QUOTE
The Following Features Are All Included:

Website/Connectivity:

    * Hosted on I/O optimized own 1&1 Linux version
    * 500 MB web space
    * 5,000 MB/month traffic ($0.99 per GB for additional traffic)
    * No limits on simultaneous hits/bandwidth
    * Protected by firewall
    * Continuous backups of your website
    * 99.9% Uptime guarantee

Website features:

    * Advanced live site statistics, log files, ready-to-run CGI-library, own CGI programming (Perl, Python), FrontPage 2002 extensions
    * Advanced Password Protection
    * 5 FTP accounts
    * PHP3 & PHP4
    * MySQL
    * Proxy SSL Secure Server
    * Cron Jobs
    * SSH Secure Shell Access
    * Advanced Developer Tools

CRM/E-commerce:

    * WebElements
    * Newsletter Tool
    * One-on-one online dialogue
    * Turn-key web database applications
    * Chats
    * Forums

Domain names:

    * Register or transfer .com/.net/.org/.info for just $5.99/year
    * 50 subdomains (e.g., shop.yourDomain.com)
    * Point up to 100 external domain names to 1&1

Applications:

    * Free template loaded online WebsiteCreator
    * Free full version of Fusion 7, search engine registration, ranking, optimization
    * Total software worth $300
    * 1&1 Control Panel

E-mail handling:

    * 50 POP3 e-mail accounts (50 MB each)
    * Catch-all e-mail addresses
    * Auto-responders, unlimited forwarding.
    * 1&1 Advanced WebMail
    * Symantec virus scanner

Support:

    * 1&1 Express support by e-mail

Joined: 11/28/2008
I have heard you can only

I have heard you can only receive 50 simultaneous connections.

ChristianDesigns.org :: Where Honesty and Business share a Friendship ::
http://www.sslforums.com/ - SSL Information kiosk

Joined: 11/28/2008
It sounds like a good offer

It sounds like a good offer for a small non-critical site.

I did read some sources that said this is a lgit offer by a legit company.

Thanks for letting us know RxGx. /smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />

Blessings,
Sean

Joined: 11/28/2008
1and1 have a bad reputation

1and1 have a bad reputation her ein the UK. Register a domain with them - then dare try to move it.

Their reputation - as with other big hosts in the UK such as Fasthosts - is that they have far more money than ability.

I wouldn't touch 1and1 with a bargepole.

And on the issue of free hosting - really, people should wise up - you get what you pay for, period. Fin. Finito.

New Testament: Apocrypha
Religions of the world: world-religions

Joined: 11/28/2008
Hi I, Brian:Thanks for the

Hi I, Brian:

Thanks for the good info.

Blessings,
Sean

Jon
Jon's picture
Joined: 11/28/2008
One should always consider

One should always consider the business model. Free hosting is certainly nto a new idea, but if theya re collecting no income for three years, how can they afford to supply a sufficient amount of workforce to properly address support needs?